DEE DEE SALLINGS

having been first duly sworn to speak the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, then testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MS. HARBERG:

Q: Ms. Sallings, could you please state your name for the record?

A: Dee Dee Sallings.

Q: Is that S-A-L-L --

A: Yes. S-A-L-L-I-N-G-S.

Q: Where do you reside?

A: Little Rock, Arkansas.

Q: Give me a little bit about your education. Your degree in college was in what?

A: I have a Bachelor in Arts degree from Hendrix College. My degree was in psychology.

Q: You obtained your law degree in what year?

A: 1986. I obtained my law degree from the University of Arkansas Law School at Little Rock. I passed the bar exam that summer.

Q: While you were in law school, did you clerk anywhere?

A: I worked for Wilson and Engstrom, now Wilson, Engstrom, and

[000822]

Dudley in Little Rock. Bill Wilson and Steve Engstrom.

Q: That was primarily your second and third year of law school?

A: That was for three years. All through law school.

Q: After law school, where did you work?

A: I worked for Wilson and Engstrom until September of 1986 when I began working at the public defender's office in Pulaski County.

Q: What type of work did you do?

A: When I was with the Pulaski County Public Defender's Office, I was in charge of all the capital murder cases for Pulaski County. I was also in charge of supervising all of the appellate work, and I had cases other than capital cases. But every capital case that came through was my responsibility.

Q: In approximately how many capital cases did you work on?

A: When I was in the public defender's office, I tried -- well, actual trials for death cases I tried eleven. After I left the public defender's office, I had a brief time at the A.G.'s Office. Then I went to the new Federal Resource Center that assists in capital murder cases, and I tried four there. So I have tried fifteen or sixteen.